Espresso Coffee Cake – The Real Coffee Cake

Don’t you just hate it when things or people aren’t what they make themselves out be?

I mean If you are a Cinnamon Cake, call yourself that but don’t for god’s sake, go calling yourself a Coffee cake!!! It is JUST so misleading and so not fair! I look at you expecting you to have coffee and you turn out to be something else!!! By the time I realize you aren’t what you are, I’ve already had a bite and the damage is done (whoever stopped after a bite of good cake)! I have nothing against Cinnamon or any other form of snack cakes, I love cake in any form (especially the un-frosted variety). But I will appreciate (and even relish) a Cinnamon or a Blueberry cake better, if it calls itself what it is!

If I could trace the person who first decided to call these snack cakes, coffee cakes, I’d like to give him/her a piece of my mind on how not to deceive with misleading words…Whatever happened to being yourself and being authentic!!!

While I can’t change the world, I’ve decided not to participate in this deception anymore. If I call a cake, Coffee cake, it will have coffee in it and will taste of coffee, it will be soft and buttery and something you will totally keep going back to (may be that’s not such a good thing!), like this Espresso Coffee Cake that I made recently and I couldn’t put my finger on what it is that was making me eat it like a cake monster… Thankfully, I posted the picture on my FB page and the next early morning, a regular customer pinged me asking if she could buy some of the cake I had with me. I sold her all of it, saving two pieces! And that’s a good thing because I would’ve eaten that whole cake by myself if that hadn’t happen.

When one of friends on Facebook asked me if the recipe was on my blog, I realized that it wan’t a bad idea at all, to get back to blogging with this recipe. I’ve been trying to put it down for more than a week now, finally have the mind space and the time to do it now! Try it if you are coffee-lover like me, or you could just be a cake lover, both ways, you will love it! And I have a request, if you do decide to use chocolate bits to top them, please use chunks and not chocolate chips that have been loaded with vegetable fats (they don’t taste as great as half melted bits of chocolate chunks that also have a bite in them), they also look way more charming and rustic!

Espresso Coffee Cake with Chocolate Chunks

What You Need

  • All-purpose Flour – 1 1/2 cups
  • Sugar – 3/4 cup
  • Baking Powder – 1 teaspoon
  • Baking Soda – 1 teaspoon
  • Salt – 1/4 teaspoon
  • Butter (softened at room temperature)- 1/2 cup (113 gms)
  • Curd – 3/4 cup
  • Eggs – 2
  • Espresso powder- 1 tablespoon
  • Hot water – 1/4 cup
  • Vanilla Essence – 1 teaspoon
  • Chocolate Chunks – 3/4 cup (optional)

_mg_3197

How You Make It

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degree F or 175 – 180 C.
  2. Add the Espresso coffee powder to the hot water and mix.
  3. Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together and set aside.
  4. Cream the butter and sugar together in a mixing bowl, with an electric hand mixer, till the batter is smooth and creamy.
  5. Add the eggs and beat well.
  6. Add the flour mix, the coffee, vanilla and curd and mix with a spatula, till everything is blended in really well and you do not see bits of any white flour left.
  7.  Pour the batter into a 8-9 inch square or circular pan that’s been greased and lined with a parchment.
  8. Sprinkle the chocolate chunks on top and bake for about 35-40 minutes, till a skewer inserted comes out batter-free (it’s OK if it has some chocolate on it because the chocolate is still warm and melted from the baking).
  9. Remove the cake onto a cooling rack to allow it to cool, or just dig in right away like a cake monster.

Note: I did add some walnut bits in the cake and I think they are completely unnecessary! Unless you are nuts about nuts, you can skip those completely.

_mg_3202

4 thoughts on “Espresso Coffee Cake – The Real Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

