A Dozen Leftover Egg Yolks and a Golden Angel Food Cake

So what do you do with leftover egg yolks from making Swiss Meringue Butter Cream (SMBC), or Angel Food Cake or any other recipe that only calls for egg Whites?

I’ll tell you all that I do with them:

  1. Throw them in the bin when I realize that I’ve stored them in the freezer and forgotten all about them and I’ve been missing those bowls I stored them in.  – This happens very often when the leftover yolks are 1-2.
  2. Sometimes when I’ve made a mental note to remember I have leftover egg yolks around, I make Lemon tarts – Usually happens when I have at least 3 or more yolks.
  3. Sometimes Dense Brownies (that weren’t too bad) – from 6-8 egg yolks left over from making SMBC.
  4. Sometimes a twisted version of the Angel Food Cake that uses yolks instead of egg whites – Usually happens when there are a dozen egg yolks remaining from making SMBC and a Jaconde Sponge for an Opera cake.

OK I lied! It doesn’t happen ‘usually’, it only happened once. Sorry for lying for effect and for not explaining my absence and not delivering the promised blog post about my trip to Leh. Allow me to make up!

Has it ever happened to you,  you have so much to say and you do not know where to begin and what to say? Especially when the information and photographs are too overwhelming and you don’t want to write an overly long post that nobody feels inclined to read? That’s what happened to me. I got paralyzed into not writing. Since I obviously couldn’t be away for too long, I found a fix. I decided to start small with a task that was more doable. To give you a recipe for what to do with 12-leftover egg yolks. When I’ve warmed up with these, I may just be able to do my travel post.

Of course anyone who knows even a little about baking will tell you that Angel Food Cake is white, not yellow and is made out of egg whites and not yolks. Sometimes I get a little bold and try and defy convention and some of those even rarer times, I get lucky  with the results. This was one of those rarer than a blue moon times!

WP_20140607_004

My friend cutting the Opera Cake

The story is pretty simple. I had 12 frozen egg yolks remaining from the SMBC and Jaconde Sponge I made for an Opera cake for a very dear friend’s birthday. And this time, I was intent on using them for something more than a Lemon tart so I tried this Yellow Angel Food Cake. Why am I intent on calling it AFC? Because I didn’t add any fat to the batter. It came out quite decent. It was nicely lemony and some whipped cream would be the perfect side for this cake.

Angel Food Cake

Angel Food Cake

Here’s how I Made It

What You Will Need

  • All purpose flour – 3 cups
  • Castor Sugar – 2 cups
  • Baking powder – 3 teaspoons
  • Salt – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Zest from 3 Limes
  • Lime Juice – 3-tablespoons
  • Vanilla Extract – ½ teaspoon
  • Egg Yolks – 12
  • Boiling Water – 1 cup

How You Will Make It

  1. Bring your egg yolks to room temperature (if you take them out of the freezer)
  2. Preheat the oven to 180 degree C and prepare your tube/Angel Food Cake Pan. I greased the pan with oil and lined it at the bottom with parchment paper.
  3. Beat your egg yolks, they are smooth and lemony.
  4. Add the sugar and the lemon zest and vanilla, till they are all blended well.
  5. Pour the water in a thin stream as you continue to beat the egg yolks and sugar
  6. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt thrice
  7. Mix the flour in and add the lime juice. Do not overmix
  8. Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake for an hour or till a skewer inserted into the cake comes out clean.
  9. Remove pan from the oven, and using a spatula or a blunt knife, loosen the sides and of the cake.
  10. Cover the pan with a lid and flip it over to invert the cake on the plate.
  11. Serve with whipped cream.

IMG_5812 (1024x664)

 

13 thoughts on “A Dozen Leftover Egg Yolks and a Golden Angel Food Cake

  1. I knew you would bake something ‘opera’ like and was hoping during my meditation that one of you will save a slice 😉 Tell me am in for some luck 🙂

  2. That is really attention-grabbing, Yoou are
    a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and sit
    up for in quest of more of your excellent post.
    Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

