Homemade Hazelnut-Chocolate (Nutella) Spread

While I was playing truant from the blog world, I didn’t exactly bum around (I know I made it sound like that). Now that I think back, I was actually making a tonne of stuff, which I never got around to posting. I experimented a whole lot with 100% Wholewheat (Peter Reinhart’s recipe with starter, Biga and the works), 70% Wholewheat bread, Multi-grain bread, Wholewheat and Multi-grain bread and 50%-Wholewheat bread (I also did Wholewheat Swirl bread with home made Nutella and Pesto). The one that found complete acceptance in my house of two, is the 50% Whole Wheat bread. In the last two months, I haven’t bought any bread at all from the store (if anyone cares). So the itch to bake didn’t exactly leave me, I just switched to healthier stuff for the time being. While on this bake healthy and eat-healthy trips, I decided to try out DL’s recipe for homemade Nutella. Believe me, I am not a Nutella fan. I don’t care much for a sweet accompaniments to bread for breakfast. The last time I bought Nutella, it lay unopened in the fridge for months, before I used it to serve as dessert when some friends dropped in unexpectedly. I can’t quite remember how it got over, but it did. I just had this itch to make it. By now you know what happens when the itch strikes … there’s no stopping me! Even if I didn’t know what I’d do with the resulting Nutella.

Image

What You Will Need

  • Whole almonds – 40 grams
  •  Hazelnuts – 160g
  •  Whole milk – 1 3/4 cup
  •  Whole Milk Powder – 60g
  •  Dark chocolate – 170g (chopped)
  •  Milk chocolate – 140g (chopped)
  •  Honey – 3 tablespoons
  •  Salt – A pinch

How You Make It

1. In a microwave safe bowl, toast the Hazelnuts for about (2 minutes). You can skin them by rubbing them in a tea towel, while still warm. Mine came peeled/skinned so I didn’t have to.

2. Toast the whole almonds for 2 minutes.

3. In a sauce pan, warm the milk, milk-powder, salt and honey till the mixture just begins to boil. Take off the stuff.

4. Melt the two chocolates in a clean bowl set over a saucepan of barely simmering water. Keep stirring to ensure till you have a smooth mix of both chocolates. Turn off the stove.

5. In a food processor, grind the Hazelnuts and Almonds as fine as possible (don’t worry if it’s not too fine, you will invariably have some larger grains, those will provide a desirable nutty texture).

6. Add the chocolate mixture and pulse till nuts are combined very well.

7. Then add the warm-milk mixture and pulse till everything is combined very well.

8. Don’t worry if you find the spread too loose at this time, once you store it in bottles and refrigerate it, the mixture will thicken to a spreadable consistency.

9. The original recipe promised 2 jars, but my yield was around 4  200 grams used jam bottles.

I needn’t have worried about what I would do with the spread or the amount it yielded. It is extremely addictive and lack of any added sugar in it somehow removes any traces of guilt. Honey-Chocolate-Nuts can’t be anything but good for your health. Add a tablespoon or two of extra honey, if you like your spread on the sweeter side. I loved mine as is, it gave me the license to slather it very liberally. It’s best had spread on cold bread straight out of the fridge. Ummmm! And need I tell you, that it’s far for more economical and preservative-free when you make it at home?

I did share a bottle of it with a couple friend and used half a bottle to make a chocolate-hazelnut swirl bread.

Image

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Homemade Hazelnut-Chocolate (Nutella) Spread

Leave a Reply

