Weeknight Dinners: Healthy Boiled Egg Burgers and Baked Spaghetti

An old friend spoke about dropping in for a chat. On her last visit more than 2 years ago (when I was working), she had called me out-of-the-blue on a Sunday and on realizing that I was unwell, brought along food. We hadn’t done the groceries for the week and there was nothing that I could serve them. She and her newly-wed husband were very gracious guests and even brought me a gift for my new home.  They made me feel better by praising my house, despite the complete lack of food that is so central to good hosting (barring the Nutella sandwiches I served them for dessert). Needless to say, I was embarrassed! 

Preparedness was key to ensure what happened the last time wasn’t repeated this time around. So I decided a date and time and invited her along with a couple other girl friends (who wanted to catch up with her) over for lunch.  Worked on tidying up and prettying-up my house buying ingredients and flowers. I had already bought some cute clothes for her nearly one-year old daughter (yeah she hadn’t lost much time). We had a good but hurried lunch (Pizza from scratch, Mac n Cheese and a Black-eyed Pea Salad and Red Velvet Cake for dessert), some catching-up before everyone went their way and I got down to finishing the work on two cakes that I had to deliver that day.  And everyone mentioned how much they enjoyed the food, especially the Pizza and the salad.

Pardon the poor quality of pictures in this post (one of the reasons, I haven’t blogged or so long). I swear the food tasted a lot better than it look here.

The lunch the leftovers came from

The lunch the leftovers came from

The remaining ingredients from the party were used up in the following weeknights to rustle up quick weeknight dinners. The Mac n Cheese, Pizza from the leftover Pizza dough.  One of the days, when I looked into the fridge, I found some leftover pizza sauce, plenty of basil, some fresh Mozzarella, broccoli and zucchini.  I had about 150 grams of spaghetti in the pantry. Earlier in the day, I had baked some whole-wheat burger buns. So I assembled everything I had to make a Boiled Egg Burger (that we shared) and Spaghetti Bake.

Whole-wheat burger buns

Whole-wheat burger buns

Boiled Egg Burger

What you will need

  • Burger Bun
  • Boiled egg (s) – 1
  • Mustard Sauce
  • Cheese Slice
  • A teaspoon of butter to toast the bun
  • Fresh-ground Pepper

How You Make It

  1. Half the burger bun and toast it on both sides on  a heated griddle greased with butter.
  2. Apply some mustard sauce on both parts of the bun.
  3. Lower the flame, place the lower part of the bun on the griddle and layer it with the cheese slice.
  4. Place the boiled eggs, cut side up on the bun.
  5. Using a pepper-grinder, crush some pepper onto the eggs.
  6. Cover with the top part of the bun and fix with a toothpick to hold it together and toast till for 2 minutes.
  7. Take off the heat and serve.

And although this pasta, bears an uncanny resemblance to another one I had blogged here, this seemed to come together in far less time.

Baked Spaghetti

What You Will Need

  • Spaghetti – 150 grams
  • 100 grams of Pizza Sauce (refer here to make your own)
  • A few basil leaves
  • Fresh  Mozzarella Cheese – 25-30 grams
  • Cheddar Cheese – 20-25 grams
  • Broccoli -1 small head (optional)
  • Zucchini – 1 small (optional)
  • Olive Oil – 1 – 1.5 teaspoon
  • Chilli Flakes – 1-1.5 teaspoons
  • Salt to taste

How You Make It

  1. Boil the spaghetti till it is one or two minute short of  Al dente
  2. Meanwhile preheat oven to 180 C
  3. Drain the pasta and spread on a greased baking dish
  4. Use the pasta water to soak the Broccoli, drain  and saute it along with the zucchini in Olive oil for 5 minutes.
  5. Pour the Pizza sauce over the pasta
  6. Add the sauteed vegetables
  7. Grate both types of cheese over the pasta
  8. Sprinkle some torn basil
  9. You can either add seasoning at this point or while serving
  10. Bake for 20 minutes and serve

Spaghetti in TomatoSauce WithgratedCheese unnamed (1)

One thought on “Weeknight Dinners: Healthy Boiled Egg Burgers and Baked Spaghetti

  1. Pingback: Whole Grain Sandwich Bread and DSLR Photography Lessons | sweetinsomniac

Leave a Reply

