Lime and Strawberry Cheesecake and a Great New Discovery

One of the things I love about cakes (well-baked ones) is the texture, soft with a light crust and that you can bite lightly into them and chew them a little. This is precisely why I do not like cheesecakes much. A soft cheesecake with a crusty base is not my idea of oral gratification.  But it was on my list of to-bake things.

One of the biggest challenges of making cheesecake in Hyderabad (India) is the unavailability of good cream cheese at reasonable prices. Yes, there is Philadelphia, but it gets too expensive, when you have to use more than one pack and even otherwise. There is a local make which is relatively cheaper. But it tends to get runny and is also too salty, needing you to add way too much icing sugar to set off the salt. It is also very difficult to work when the weather is humid or there are many power cuts. So when a fellow-baker on a Baker’s guild I am on, shared the recipe for a home-made cream cheese, I just had to try it.

The Cream Cheese takes at least 5 days to make but is worth making when you need lots of cream cheese and want it thick.  So I used the recipe from Cheryl Rajkumar’s blog to make my own cream cheese and then used to it to make my first cheese cake. And it turned out good. Although, I might use a different kind of a cookie base for the cheesecake next time. This time I used Treacle Ginger Nuts as a base, the recipe for which you will find here to bake a Lime and Strawberry Cheesecake.

The Ginger-nuts I used as as the base for the cheesecake

The Ginger-nuts I used as as the base for the cheesecake

Lime and Strawberry Cheesecake (Serves 6-8 portions)

I modified the recipe from here slightly to make the cheesecake

You Will Need

  • 226 grams cream cheese (I used this recipe to make my own)
  • 200 ml/1 pack heavy cream (I used MilkyMist)
  • 2 tbsp. Curd
  • 2 eggs
  • Grated zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp. good vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons plain flour
  • 15 biscuits/cookies (I recommend digestive biscuits, as the the Ginger nuts I used were too hard and a little strong)
  • 1 and 1/2 tbsp. melted butter
  • 200 grams strawberries
  • Mint to decorate

How I Made It

  1. Grind the cookies in a mixie or place is a zip-lock and bash with a rolling pin till it is a sandy powder.
  2.  Mix the crumbled cookies with the melted butter.
  3. Press the cookie-crumb-mixture onto a 7-inch spring-form pan and let it come up the sides. Line the pan from outside with a double-layer of aluminium foil and place in the freezer for 20 minutes.
  4. Preheat the oven to 180 degree C
  5. With a hand-mixer, mix the eggs, cream cheese, cream, vanilla, lime zest, sugar, flour and mix till blended well.
  6. Take a baking tray and fill water in it till 1/4th level.
  7. Place the spring-form pan into the tray and pour the cream cheese and egg mixture over the biscuit-base and bake an hour till the cheesecake feels set but is lightly wobbly in the center.
  8. Remove from oven to cool and chill for at least 12 hours or overnight
  9. Use a knife dipped in hot water to un-mold the cheesecake from the sides and decorate with sliced Strawberries and mint just before serving.

Lime-and-Strawberry-Cheesecake-on-Ginger-Nut-Crust

One thought on “Lime and Strawberry Cheesecake and a Great New Discovery

Leave a Reply

