Seven Steps to Feeling Like a Domestic Godess

I had plenty of cake scraps remaining from the Devil’s Food Cake and Yellow Vanilla Cake for the four-layer cake I had made for Dave’s birthday. I also had some cream cheese frosting remaining from a Carrot and Cream Cheese cake I had baked for a client. I had an unused sexy grey rectangular tart pan I was dying to use. So I did the predictable things I could with all of them.

Image

  1. I crushed the Devil’s Food Cake and the Vanilla Cake separately.
  2. Then I layered the yellow cake crumbs at the bottom of the pan by pressing them into the greased tart pan and put the pan in the freezer for 20 minutes.
  3. On the layer of Vanilla crumbs, I poured some cream cheese frosting and smoothed it gently.  I put it back in the freezer for setting.
  4. Next I pressed in crumbs from the Devil’s Food Cake and froze it for 20-30 minutes.
  5. I spread the remaining cream cheese frosting on the dark layer and sprinkled a few frozen rasberries and blueberries on the cream cheese. I cling wrapped it, and put it to set in the freezer.
  6. Gave it a fancy name (Layered cheese cake, or some such name).
  7. Served it right after a pasta dinner and turned a Friday TV dinner into an exotic meal. Feel like a domestic goddess (that you aren’t) as you watch your husband’s eyes light up when you serve him neat little triangles of the assembled dessert.
3 thoughts on “Seven Steps to Feeling Like a Domestic Godess

Leave a Reply

