Apple-Cherry-Fennel Cake – Low on Guilt, High on Satisfaction

I was undergoing serious withdrawal symptoms. It had been months since my fridge had not held any form of baked goodies (the sweet kind). And suddenly, it didn’t have any when I rummaged through it, when the craving for something sweet hit me. All this because I had vowed to go off baking anything for ourselves after continuously eating that stuff for months and knowing very well that next month (with both our birthdays coming) is going to be bad (or good, depending on the way you look at it). So yeah when the urge to bake struck me (not counting the cookies and cakes I was baking on order) somewhere in mid-September, I turned to breads (my previous couple of posts were all about those). I did more bread-baking, one not so unsuccessful one too. So my baking urges were taken care of, but my cravings for something sweet and mildly-satisfying were slowly getting a little out of control, so one of the days  when I was working on the a fore-mentioned unsuccessful bread, I also decided on making the Apple Fennel Cake I had baked before.  This one is light, made without butter and is immensely gratifying. Since I had some frozen cherries lying around in my freezer, I decided to combine them too and include some steps from the Upside down cherry cake I had made earlier. The best thing about this cake is how quickly you can make it, so yeah within an hour from starting prep, I had a light, mildly-fragrant and mildly sweet cake to bite into. Ummm! and that’s how you satisfy cravings. And guilt? just a wee bit, as subtle as the hint of fennel in it.

Here how I made it.

What You Will Need

  • 1.5 cups All purpose flour + 2 tablespoons
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4th teaspoon salt
  • 1.5-2  teaspoons ground fennel seeds
  • 3/4th cups Castor sugar (I had the exact amount remaining)
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 2 tablespoon of Curd/Plain Yogurt
  • 2 eggs separated
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/2 cup cherries or berries (optional)
  • 2 apples, peeled, cored and diced small

How You Make it:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F/180 degree C
  2. Sift together the flour, baking powder,salt and ground fennel powder thrice
  3. Using a hand-mixer, Beat the eggs whites with the cream of tartar till they form stiff peaks
  4. Beat the yolks
  5. beat the sugar with the cream in mixing bowl
  6. Add the dry ingredients to the creamed sugar and then add in the yolks and curd and mix
  7. Lightly fold-in the egg-white mix
  8. Toss the cherries or berries in the 2 tablespoons of flour
  9. Fold in the apples and the cherries or berries.
  10. Pour into a greased mold or spring-form pan (i used a pie-plate)
  11. Bake for 30 – 35 minutes, till a knife inserted comes our clean
  12. Dig in
Image

The missing piece of the puzzle made my stomach very happy 🙂

Image

Just so you can see the pie-plate shape on the sides

Image

Image

The failed experiment – Buckwheat, Wholewheat and Raagi bread with melon seeds and oats.

2 thoughts on “Apple-Cherry-Fennel Cake – Low on Guilt, High on Satisfaction

    • Thank you Aiza :). Going by those crumbs on the cake, you can see I don’t. Part impatience, part the need to not wanting to manipulate. I believe there’s enough air-brushing around, food should be left off it. My husband does the photography but I am the director 🙂

Leave a Reply

