Berry Berry Summery – Double Berry Bundt Cake

Alrite I admit that the title was my very lame attempt at rhyme! Here’s the story. Around 2-3 weeks ago, my house was under siege by some insane and cruel power surges which were blowing up our electronic devices one after another. First it was the set-top box (when I thought it was the television), the music system, the Mixie, then my laptop and and the biggest blow was of course my oven.

A few futile attempts and some torturous powerless days later, we finally managed to have the electricity issue resolved and I could finally turn on the fans. I went down on my knees to fervently thank the gods of electricity. Then very cautiously I decided to try turning on my laptop and it WORKED. I was thrilled and then I pushed my luck and turned on the oven and hallelujah the Oven WORKED. MY OVEN WAS BACK FROM THE DEAD!!! I was beyond ecstatic. Since I was home alone, celebrating with Champagne wasn’t going to be fun (also because there was no Champagne at home). I did the second best thing to popping a champagne bottle, baked a cake!. Of course you can count on me to be soo predictable.

I lieu of the Holi (the Indian Festival of colors) that we hadn’t celebrated the previous day (all thanks to the Power situation), I chose the Triple Berry Bundt Cake recipe from Smitten Kitchen to bring some spring color into my life. The original recipe calls for Blueberries, Rasberries and Blackberries (none of which I had on hand). Last I checked blueberries were either not available or cost a bomb in that one place where they were. I’ve never seen Rasberries or even blackberries in my city. So I tweaked the recipe to suit what I had on hand. Mulberries (that were threatening to die on me), Strawberries some tinned Pineapple. These fruits weren’t the ideal replacement for the original fruit but they worked alrite to make a lovely summer cake that is oh-so-gratifying when you bite into it as soon as you take it out of the fridge (where I recommend you store it). The cake doesn’t look as colorful as Deb’s because the purple color from the Mulberries drowned the pink/red from strawberries and the pineapple. In fact, when I ate it first, I was a tad disappointed but the next day when I ate it right after taking it out of the fridge, it was the most soothing thing I did for my stomach! It’s soft, has a delicate crumb and the intermittent sprinkling of fruit in the cake makes it the ideal Summer cake. I skipped the glaze as I didn’t believe any added sugar was necessary for this beautiful summer cake, but you could choose to add it for the added lemony flavor.

What You Need:

  • 2 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons Aluminium-free baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon fine salt
  • 225 grams unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup (175 ml) buttermilk (add vinegar to whole milk and let stand for 10 minutes)
  • 3 cups (400 grams) mixed fruit (I used Mulberries, Strawberries and Pineapple)

How You Make It:

  1. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt together
  2. With an electronic hand-mixer, in a large bowl, cream the sugar and butter together for 5 minutes. Add the lemon zest and mix again
  3. Preheat the oven to 180 degree C
  4. Beat the eggs separately and then add a little bit of the flour alternating with a little bit of the beaten eggs till all the eggs are incorporated.
  5. Alternate the flour with buttermilk till both of them are used up
  6. Add the vanilla
  7. Fold in the berries and fruit and mix into the batter
  8. Grease a bundt tin. Make sure to grease your tin well as this cake does have a tendency to stick when you try to take it out
  9. Bake for 50-60 minutes and till the cake is done
  10. Take it out of the oven and let it cool for 30 minutes before you try to invert it onto a rack

Image

This is an extremely pretty cake and the perfect one to break in my new Nordicware Bundt mould. I’d rather eat this than have a glass of champagne.

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

