Baking Spree 1- Dried Cherry and White Chocolate Scones

I first read about scones in the Man Booker prize-winning book called Inheritance of Loss, by Kiran Desai. These ones weren’t baked but made on the stove in a pan (I’ll need to check on how that’s done). Years later, while browsing through David Lebovitz’s blog (I do this atleast once a day, I am that big a fan), I found a recipe for Sour Cherry and White Chocolate Scones. I checked them out and wasn’t too sure if they had to be crisp or soft. Image

At around the same time, one of my new favorite blogs Smitten Kitchen featured a recipe of Dark Chocolate and Pear Scones. These looked so inviting that scones were the first things I tried when my addiction for baking got the better of me. I decided to bake both these kinds of scones back to back.

Image

Now that I have gotten comfortable with tweaking the recipes mildly, I did tweak DL’s recipe a little to suit the ingredients I had on hand. I baked and cooled them, covered them with cling film and hid them in the freezer (where we do not look daily). I wiped all evidence of the dirty dishes in the sink and yet, 4-5 hours later, when the husband got home, he smelt something sweet and asked me if I had baked, of course I denied it. But he dug the scones out the next morning when I was talking to client on the phone. All my anger vanished and helplessness subsided, when he took a bite, kissed me and said they were lovely and tasted just as he had imagined they would. Yes I am a sucker for compliments!

You can either follow the original recipe here, or follow my slightly modified recipe.

What you will need:

  • 11/3 cup of All purpose flour
  • 2/3rd cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 115 ml cream (I used low fat)
  • 1 teaspoon milk
  • 140 gms White chocolate cut into small chunks
  • 60 gms chopped dried cherries
  • 1-2 tablespoons granulated sugar to sprinkle on the scones

How you make it:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F/180C
  2. Separate 1 egg into the white and yolk and mix the white the white with the other egg. Mix the yolk with the milk.
  3. Sift the two flours, salt with the baking powder and mix with the sugar
  4. Cut the chilled butter into small cubes and then use your hands to mix it with the flour
  5. Add the eggs and cream and mix together with a spatula
  6. Fold in the white chocolate chunks and dried cherries and mix well.
  7. Spread the mixture onto a floured surface and pat into a circle or a square and then cut them into 8-12 wedges using a pastry cutter
  8. Lift each of them with a steel spatula and transfer to a baking tray lined with greased butter paper.
  9. Brush each scone with the beaten egg yolk and sprinkle sugar on all of them.
  10. Bake for 20-30 minutes till the scones are a golden brown. Let them remain in the oven for 5-10 minutes.
  11. Remove from the oven and cool. These are great bites to go with tea.

Note: My batter was very soft, if you prefer a slightly harder scone, add more flour. I liked the soft texture of my scone so didn’t add any extra flour.

Image

5 thoughts on “Baking Spree 1- Dried Cherry and White Chocolate Scones

  1. Pingback: Equal Opportunity Editor « Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

