Gratitude and Thanksgiving

This is the first year I gave some serious thought to the significance of Thanksgiving.  In the previous years it always meant an easy weekend at work, because it was a US holiday and most folks (clients and peers in the US) were out all week.

This has been a year of unanticipated change  and there are many things I am thankful for. Since in India, on this day, we don’t get to share a meal with friends and family and say thanks for the things we are thankful for, I am going to write them here.

I am thankful for:

1. My partner in life. I realize what I have isn’t very common and I am grateful for him being in my life. For supporting me in all of my decisions and standing by me despite odds.

2. My parents, in-laws, brothers and extended familys’ good health and love.

3. The few but precious friends I have.

Image

4. My house-help who makes my life so much easier. I bless her (in my mind) each time she turns up after a party when my kitchen space is choc-a-block with dirty dishes.

5. My house, my garden and my baking.

6. For all my friends and family who have pampered and indulged me by bringing baking-related things that aren’t available in India each time they went abroad or came back from the US. Thanks S&H, my SIL, Sonu, P and L. I will probably never get to thank you guys enough in person, but I’ll always be grateful to the impact your gestures have had on my life.

ImageImage

Image

7. And most importantly I am grateful for this blog, it’s followers and people who like my posts. You have no idea how much it means to me. Thank you everyone and wish you a very happy Thanksgiving with your near and dear ones. May you have many things to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

